Scroll To Top
rowing victoria state championships

1902-1903 Rowing Victoria State Championships— Lower Yarra


Champion Men's Scull

(2 1/2 miles)

Time: 15:12.5
Margin: 1/2 length

1st Percy C Ivens, Mercantile

2nd Harold D Brash, Mercantile

3rd C E Suffren, Ballarat

4th Charles Stamper, Albert Park

This event was held on 25th October 1902. A foul occurred about a quarter of a mile from the start, and the Umpire restarted the race from the point where the foul happened. The race was largely between the Mercantile scullers with the other scullers well behind.

Charles Stamper from Albert Park Rowing Club

Champion Men's Pair

(1 1/2 miles)

Time: 14:07

1st Albert Park – Bow: Alex Chamley, Str: Charles Donald, Cox: T Buchanan

2nd Nagambie

3rd Ballarat

4th Footscray City

Rowed on the Salt Water River (Lower Yarra) on the 4th April, 1903

Champion Men's Four

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 14:47

1st Albert Park – Bow: E W Tulloch, 2: Charles Donald, 3: Alex Chamley, Str: James Donald, Cox: T Buchanan

2nd Ballarat

Rowed on Saltwater River (Lower Yarra) on November 29th, 1902.

James Donald, known as the Prince of Oarsmen

Champion Men's Eight

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 13:02.6

1st Albert Park – Bow: W C Low, 2: C H Kohn, 3: T Rider, 4: M G Scott, 5: E W Tulloch, 6: Charles Donald, 7: Alex Chamley, Str: James Donald, Cox: T Buchanan

2nd Banks

This race was conducted on the Saltwater River (Lower Yarra) on 21st March 1902.


The Victorian Oarsman with a Rowing Register, by John Lang, published by A H Massina and Company 1919.

Victorian Rowing Association, Reports 1903 - 1944.

Mercantile Rowing Club Annual Report

Photo of James Donald from the Guerin collection

Photo of Charles Stamper from the Charles Stamper Collection, Albert Park South Melbourne Rowing Club

< previous 1902

> next 1904

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management