Scroll To Top
rowing victoria state championships

1909-10 Rowing Victoria State Championships

Another record entry at these Championships, this time in the four with seven entries.

The eights race was again a splendid race with Albert Park able to come from behind to take victory. Mercantile had a bad start but settled well into a steady swing. They lead for three quarters of the race before a good finish by Albert Park.


Champion Men's Scull

(2 1/2 miles)

Time: 19:32

1st Percy C Ivens, Mercantile

2nd A Richards, South Melbourne

3rd E Christie, Sandhurst

4th Edward Kenny, Mercantile

5th W C Harvey, Mercantile

Lower Yarra, October 9th, 1909. A good entry was received for this event, which was again won by P. C. Ivens (Mercantile) for the eighth and last time.

Percy Ivens in Victorian Colours in 1910

Champion Men's Pair

(1 mile)

Time: 6:13
Margins: 4 feet

1st Albert Park – Bow: M G Scott, Str: Charles Donald, Cox: Harry Duncan

2nd Cobram

3rd Essendon

4th Civil Service

5th South Melbourne

6th Yarra Yarra

7th Mercantile - Bow: M C Brown, Str: G Ferguson

Lower Yarra, January 15th, 1910. In this event seven crews competed, and after a very interesting race the Albert Park crew won by four feet from Cobram.

Champion Men's Four

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 14:22
Margins: Canvas

1st Albert Park – Bow: J Wright, 2: C H Kohn, 3: M G Scott, Str: Charles Donald, Cox: B Arnold

2nd South Melbourne

3rd Essendon

4th Mercantile - Bow: G Logan, 2: J J Fogarty, 3: M C Brown, Str: G Ferguson, Cox: C Bennett

5th Civil Service

6th Footscray City

7th Yarra Yarra

Lower Yarra, November 27th 1909. Seven crews competed in this race, constituting a record entry. After a magnificent race, the Judge could not separate Albert Park and South Melbourne, Essendon were third, Mercantile fourth, Civil Service fifth, Footscray City sixth, and Yarra Yarra seventh. Albert Park and South Melbourne rowed off on the following Saturday, December 4th, and after another excellent contest, the former crew won by a canvas. The winners, also the South Melbourne crew, are to be complimented on their fine performance.

Champion Men's Eight 

(Distance - Not recorded)

Time: 15:00

1st Albert Park – Bow: J Wright, 2: Charles Donald, 3: Harold Lindgren, 4: R L Conrick, 5: F Johnson, 6: C H Kohn, 7: M G Scott, Str: James Donald, Cox: T Buchanan

2nd Mercantile - Bow: G Logan, 2: G Ferguson, 3: Edward Kenny, 4: J J Fogarty, 5: Archibald Dobbie, 6: William Potter, 7: M C Brown, Str: Stanley Guinn, Cox: C Bennett

3rd Footscray City

4th Wendouree

5th Essendon

Yarra, March 12th, 1910. For this event five entries were received. After a very fine race, the Albert Park crew were again victorious. Your committee is greatly indebted to the Melbourne Harbour Trust Commissioners for their courtesy in permitting this race to be rowed over the course form Coode Canal to No. 8 wharf; also to the various shipping companies for their kindness in postponing the departure of several steamers until after the race. There was a fair attendance on the official steamer, though not nearly so large as your Committee desires to see at such an important event.


The Victorian Oarsman with a Rowing Register, by John Lang, published by A H Massina and Company 1919.

Victorian Rowing Association, Reports 1903 - 1944.

Ivens photo from 1910 Interstate Championships program

Mercantile Rowing Club Annual Report 1909-10

< previous 1909

> next 1911

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management