Scroll To Top
History of the South Australian Schools Head of the River rowing regatta

1923 South Australian Schools' Head of the River

Tuesday, 10 April – Torrens Lake:

1923 saw the second edition of the challenge between Adelaide High School and St. Peter's College. The race occurred in April rather than in December as seen in the 1922 edition. It was also raced in fours rather than eights.

Raced over a ½ mile, The Advertiser reported that St. Peter's College won the race by 1½ lengths over Adelaide High School.


Organising Committee:

South Australian Rowing Association


Starter: Mr. J. J. Healy

Umpires: Mr. C. A. Wilsch & Mr. T. A. Howard

Judge: Mr. J. Kitson

First Four

½ mile

Time: unknown

Margin: 1½ lengths

1st St. Peter's College – Bow: L. G. Galloway, 2: M. K. Martin, 3: W. R. C. Howard, Str: R. R. Knight, Cox: T. A. Corbin

2nd Adelaide High School – Bow: D. P. Dowd, 2: J. Ashton, 3: C. R. Burnard, Str: M. R. Ryan, Cox: R. R. Frith


ROWING. (1923, 12 April), The Advertiser (Adelaide, SA : 1889 – 1931), p. 16, Retrieved April 9 2023, from

< previous 1922

> next 1924

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management