Scroll To Top
History of Ballarat Head of the Lake rowing regatta

1930 Ballarat Head of the Lake

Saturday 3rd of May

Saturday was a great day for the students, old boys, and supporters of St.Patrick’s College, when the annual Head of the Lake contest was decided under the auspices of the Ballarat Public Schools Association. As in other centres, this is a gala day for all citizens, as well as partisans of the three schools. There was a very large crowd present. The racing was full of interest, and the boys of St.Patrick’s carried off the coveted double-both first and second fours. In the big event, a powerful and well-balanced crew, comprising E. Wilson (bow), J. Rice (2),J. Harrison (3), H. Walls (str) and J. Moore (cox) and Mr. W.D. Dawson (coach), won with consummate ease, having led all the way. In a good race for second, Ballarat College just beat Grammar School. The race for the second fours was somewhat similar, S.P.C. going away with a good lead, which they held to the end, winning by over three lengths from Ballarat College and Grammar School, who dead-heated for second. The personnel of the winning crew was R. Morris (bow), W. Breen (2), D. Hayes(3), R. O’Halloran (str) and T. McCarthy(cox). There was also a race for the Old Boy’s, and in this St.Patrick’s, when going well, broke an oar and retired. This proved the most exciting race of the day, Ballarat College just winning from Grammar School. Advocate, Melbourne,8/5/1930. 

This was the first year the Head of the Lake was held on the newly cleared Regatta course

Organising Committee and Officials

Organising Committee: Ballarat Public Schools' Association

Officials: Ballarat Regatta Association


  • Age, Melbourne, 5/5/1930, page 14
  • Advocate, Melbourne, 8/5/1930, page 26
Principal researcher: Kate Elliott

Head of the Lake

Regatta course-Lake Wendouree

Time: no time.

Margin: two and a half lengths to second and a length to third. 

1st St.Patrick’s College - Bow: E H Wilson, 2: J H Rice, 3: J C Harrison, Str: H D Walls, Cox: J J Moore, Coach: Mr W D Dawson

2nd Ballarat College - Now: D L John, 2: J F Mitchell, 3: H K McLean, Str: F M Loutit, Cox: F Coates, Coach: Mr W Clift

3rd Grammar School - Bow: R Crosbie, 2: G Moorhouse, 3: P Jelbart, Str: C Coventry, Cox: J Howe, Coach: Mr R Jelbart.

1930 St Patrick's Crew

1930 St Patrick's Crew

From '100 Years of the Head of the Lake' published by The Courier in 2012

Second Fours

Time: Not known

Margins: 3 lengths and dead heat for second

1st St.Patrick’s College - BowR Morris, 2: W Breen, 3: D Hayes, Str: R O’Halloran, Cox: T McCarthy

= 2nd Ballarat College

= 2nd Grammar School

< previous 1929

> next 1931

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management