Scroll To Top
history of corowa rowing club

2021 Under 21 Trans Tasman Regattas

For the second year in a row, the regatta with New Zealand was cancelled due to travel restrictions arising from the continuing COVID-19 pandemic.

Given that another year without an under 21 competition would be too damaging for the sport, four crews were selected to race against other Australian rowing teams in Adelaide. Sadly, not all crews were able to travel to Adelaide due to State enforced travel restrictions.

Rowing Australia announced as follows on 17th March 2021.

Rowing Australia (RA) today confirmed that due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, it does not intend to send Under 23, Under 21 or Under 19 athletes to compete internationally.

This is in line with RA’s announcement earlier this year that stated the organisation did not intend to send senior athletes to compete at international regattas throughout 2021, excluding the Final Olympic and Paralympic Qualification Regattas for the Tokyo Games.

It is still the intention of RA to select and support our pathway group athletes irrespective of international travel throughout 2021, and RA will announce, post trials, U23, U21 and U19 Australian Rowing Teams.
The plan is that these teams will assemble for various camps, before then joining Australia’s Olympic and Paralympic rowing teams in a World Rowing Cup 3 simulation regatta to be held at the Sydney International Regatta Centre (3 to 6 June 2021).

RA is dedicated to ensuring that its pathway continues to develop and that the future of our sport remains strong thanks to our underage athletes and the wider pathway network. RA looks forward to seeing these athletes compete at the 2021 Aon Australian Rowing Championships, ahead of their trials, and showcasing to the community the strength and depth of the sport in Australia.

Following selection of under age crews, Rowing Australia advised as follows:

Rowing Australia (RA) today announced the Under 23 (U23) and Under 21 (U21) Australian Rowing Teams that will compete at the World Rowing Cup 3 Simulation Regatta to be held from 11 to 13 June in Penrith, New South Wales.

After completing a trialling process held at Lake Barrington, Tasmania, following the 2021 Aon Australian Rowing Championships, RA has selected seventeen U23 crews and four U21 crews to compete at the simulation regatta that will also feature Australia’s Senior Australian Rowing Team crews, as they prepare for the rescheduled Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games.

RA Deputy Performance Director, Jaime Fernandez, said “We’re delighted to be able to name two large teams to compete at our simulation regatta to be held in June. 2021 provides us with an opportunity to be inclusive and engage with a larger cohort of athletes, with an eye to Paris and beyond. These teams also include a number of our US-Based rowers who have been training in Australia due to the COVID-19 situation impacting the world.

“The regatta will provide our pathway teams the chance to compete against our top elite crews as they prepare to take on the world in Tokyo. The selections highlight the depth and breadth of our pathway network, with athletes and coaches coming from all our Member Associations.

“While I know many may have been disappointed by not being able to compete overseas this year, I believe our event, at the Sydney International Regatta Centre, will provide excellent racing and a highly competitive environment for the future stars of our sport.”

Australian Team

U21 Women’s Coxed Eight

Evie Thomson (NSW)
Caitlin McManus-Barnett (NSW)
Amy Bain (TAS)
Anna Blackwell (TAS)
Emily Sutherland (VIC)
Sophie Reinehr (VIC)
Sophie Ward (VIC)
Katie Easton (VIC)
Coxswain: Sadie Ridgway (QLD)

U21 Women’s Quadruple Scull

Alexandra Rooney (QLD)
Louise Bongrain (VIC)
Danica Free (QLD)
Sophie Gerber (QLD)

U21 Men’s Coxed Eight

James Scott (VIC)
Harrison Fox (VIC)
Jarrod Lord (QLD)
Mitch Salisbury (QLD)
Hayden Coote (WA)
Fraser Miscamble (VIC)
Nicholas Smith (VIC)
Max Von Appen (NSW)
Coxswain: Charlie Durkin (VIC)

U21 Men’s Quadruple Scull

Cormac Hayes (ACT)
Nicholas Blackman (SA)
Cameron Glover (WA)
Alexander Rossi (WA)

Head coach: Jason Lane (SA)

Women's coaches: Jack Hanley (NSW) and Mark Beer (WA)

Men's coaches: Zachary Smith (VIC) and Scott Rowe (QLD)

< previous 2020

> next 2022

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management