Scroll To Top
history of corowa rowing club

2015 Under 21 Trans Tasman Regattas

This regatta is run in two parts. The first leg was held in Sydney from 2nd to 4th July 2015 with the second leg held at Lake Karapiro in New Zealand from 27th to 29th August 2015.

This is a teams event very similar to past series and highly effective in providing high level competition in a number of boat classes. There is one reserve per gender per team and squad rather than crew coaches.

The scullers row singles and a double. The sweep rowers pairs and a four. The scullers and sweep combine into eights. The reserves race a mixed double scull.

Points for racing are awarded in the finals as follows:

For W1x, M1x, W2- and M2-,
1st – 6 points
2nd – 4 points
3rd – 2 points
4th – 1 point

For LW2x, LM2x, W4-, M4-, W4x, M4x, W8+ and M8+
1st – 6 points
2nd – 4 points

For LW1x, LM1x and MixL2x
1st – 2 points
2nd – 1 point

Medals are awarded to the first-placed boat in each category.


As mentioned above this series is conducted over two regattas, the first on 2-4th July in Sydney and the second on 27-28 August in Lake Karapiro.

The overall point score for the series was:

Rusty Robertson Trophy Point Score
1st New Zealand 319
2nd Australia 233

Regatta 1 - Sydney

At the conclusion of the first leg of the regatta, New Zealand led by 50 points and well placed to retain the Rusty Robertson Trophy.

The final point score of the series after the first regatta was:

1st New Zealand 166
2nd Australia 116

The regatta is Sydney also included crews from the Australian under 23 and junior teams whose performances were not counted in the point score.

Thursday morning results

Thursday afternoon results

Friday morning results

Friday afternoon results

Saturday morning results

Saturday afternoon results

Regatta 2 - Lake Karipiro

As foreshadowed by the results of the first leg, New Zealand comfortably retained the Rusty Robertson Trophy.

The point score of the second series was:

  Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Running total
New Zealand 85 44 24 153
Australia 65 36 16 117

The second regatta was conducted on 27-29 August 2015. The RA website reported as follows:
Round two of the U21 Trans-Tasman Series kicked off today at Lake Karapiro, New Zealand. The Australians arrived in New Zealand on Monday following a three-day pre-departure camp in Canberra. Both teams were treated to a traditional Maori welcome by the Waipa District Mayor and Council on Wednesday and Australian team representatives Serena Cox and Darcy Wruck responded on behalf of the team. Keen to improve on results from the first round, the Aussies were itching to race. Following terrible weather earlier in the week, all fingers were crossed for good racing conditions on Day 1. The morning session saw a tail breeze bring home the Australian men’s lightweight double and single sculls to victory in the heats. Near perfect conditions proved very helpful to the Australians in the afternoon session with wins to the men’s pair of Darcy Wruck and Harley Moore, men’s lightweight double of Oli Cook and Sean Murphy and the men’s lightweight single sculler Blaine Heseltine. George Lethbridge and Olly Smith did a fantastic job of improving on their morning race to place second in the men’s pair, and Serena Cox gave it absolutely everything in the women’s single before being pipped on the line and finishing second.

Thursday results

The RA website reported as follows:
Crews were treated to another beautiful day for day two of racing at the U21 Trans-Tasman regatta today. Both sessions of racing saw some tight finishes, with the Australians again showing improvement from the heats to the afternoon finals.
The highlight of the day was the final of the men’s quad, with both crews battling it out right to the line. The Australian crew (Sean Murphy, Jacob Bicknell, Henry Youl, Oli Cook) took it to the Kiwis early and came away with the victory. Unfortunately, that was the only Australian win in the finals, with the Kiwis getting the better of us in the women’s four (Miller Ferris, Ellie Parker, Ellen Pozzi, Tyler Ferris), women’s quad (Serena Cox, Caitlin Bloomfield, Rowena Meredith, Kate O’Gorman) and men’s four (Olly Smith, Harley Moore, George Lethbridge, Darcy Wruck). The Australian mixed double scull (Blaine Heseltine and Meghan Hester) raced against the women’s fours after the New Zealand crew scratched from the final race of the day.
Points at the conclusion of day two are New Zealand 295, Australia 217. Crews will combine in eights for the final day of racing tomorrow.

Friday results

The final races on 29th August were interesting with New Zealand easily winning the women's eight but a superb race in the men's eight with a final margin of only 0.22 second. It was a fitting highlight to the regatta.

New Zealand easily retained the Rusty Robinson Trophy.

Saturday results

australian and new zealand teams

The Australian and New Zealand teams

Australian Team

Men’s Sculling

Henry Youl (TAS)
Jacob Bicknell (NSW)

Men’s Sweep

Darcy Wruck (QLD)
Harley Moore (QLD)
Oliver Smith (QLD)
George Lethbridge (QLD)
Cox: Tom McLellan (QLD) - Australian leg
Angus Bagby (QLD) - New Zealand leg

Men’s Lightweight

Oliver Cook (TAS)
Sean Murphy (NSW)
Reserve: Blaine Heseltine (QLD)

Men's Coaches

Kieran Dwyer (QLD)
Matthias Ungemach (NSW)

Women’s Sculling

Annabelle McIntyre (WA) - First leg
Rowena Meredith (NSW) - Second leg
Serena Cox (NSW)
Unfortunately Annabelle McIntyre had to withdraw from the second regatta due to injury. She was replaced by Rowena Meredith.

Women’s Sweep

Kate Rowan(QLD)
Tyler Ferris (QLD)
Ellen Pozzi (QLD)
Eloise Parker (QLD)
Cox: Sarah Ben-David (VIC)
Miles Ferris (QLD) was originally selected but was ruled out due to injury in the first regatta. She was replaced by Kate Rowan.

Women’s Lightweight

Kate O’Gorman (NSW)
Caitlyn Bloomfield (TAS)
Reserve: Meghan Hester (VIC)

Women's Coaches

Jirik Haselgrove (QLD)
Debbie Fox (NSW)

Australian leg: Tara Huntly (RA)
New Zealand: Naomi Wagstaff (RA)
Head coach: Barnaby Eaton (RA)
Physiotherapist: Aleem Khalfan

New Zealand Team

Men’s Sculling

Ben van Dalen
James Walker
Jack O’Leary
James Moody

Men’s Sweep

Tom Clyma
Hugo Elworthy
Charlie Rogerson
Martyn O’Leary
Cox: Natalie Bocock

Men’s Lightweight

Ben van Dalen
James Moody
Reserve: Jared van Vianen

Women’s Sculling

Georgia Allen
Luka Ellery

Women’s Sweep

Davina Waddy
Georgia Nugent-O’Leary
Ella Pudney
Bella Cordwell
Cox: Amber Fordham

Women’s Lightweight

Courtney Rennie
Anna Watson-Taylor
Reserve: Lucy Jonas

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management