Scroll To Top
history of corowa rowing club

1986 Trans Tasman Juniors Regattas– Lake Ruataniwha & River Avon NZL

New Zealand again won the challenge. The second men’s eight race was subject to a protest by Australia after a clash. The protest was upheld and a re-row ordered. The first attempt of the re-row on Sunday afternoon was abandoned due to bad weather. The re-row was then planned for the Avon River on Monday morning but snow drifts delayed the journey to Christchurch. The race was finally completed midday Monday. Steve Nesbitt replaced Andrew Sullivan in the ultimate race.

Australian Junior Eight

Australian Junior Eight


Men's Eight

Saturday: 1st NZL, 2nd AUS, 3rd SA, 4th Canterbury
Monday: 1st AUS, 2nd NZL

Men's Scull

Saturday: 1st AUS (Sargent), 2nd QLD (Diplock), 3rd NZL
Sunday: 1st AUS (Sargent), 2nd NZL, 3rd QLD (Diplock)

Women's Four

Saturday: 1st NZL, 2nd AUS, 3rd Rangatoto
Sunday: 1st NZL, 2nd Rangatoto, 3rd AUS

Women's Scull

Saturday: 1st NZL, 2nd AUS (Spedding), 3rd North Esk TAS
Sunday: 1st NZL, 2nd AUS (Spedding), 3rd North Esk TAS

Australian Team

  • Men's Eight
    • Bow: Andrew Sullivan (VIC)
    • 2: Mark Dwyer (VIC)
    • 3: Andrew McCubbery (VIC)
    • 4: Grant Williamson (VIC)
    • 5: Callum Hair (VIC)
    • 6: Simon Quirk (VIC)
    • 7: Jason Kovacic (VIC)
    • Str: Jason Kerr (VIC)
    • Cox: Bill Webster (VIC)
    • Cchs: Phil Ainsworth & Stan Sliwinski (VIC)
  • Women's Four
    • Bow: Margaret Kitchin (ACT)
    • 2: Kym Gregg (SA)
    • 3: Lisa Garrett (ACT)
    • Str: Susi Deterding (SA)
    • Cox: Cathy Willoughby (ACT)
    • Cch: David Bagnall (ACT)
  • Men's Scullers
    • Dean Watts (NSW)
    • Cch: Reg Galvin (NSW)
  • Women's Sculler
    • Maree Spedding (QLD)
    • Ted Hale (QLD)
  • Manager: Tom Jack (QLD)

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management