Scroll To Top
history of australian national rowing championships

1987 Australian Masters Regatta, Lake Burley Griffin ACT

David Bagnall provided the following report on the regatta in the Australian Rowing magazine of February 1987.

The annual Australian Veteran's Championships were held on Lake Burley Griffin on 18th January and the standard of competition was as tough as ever. Perennial Bob Bradley (ANI) won the E Sculls (52 to 60 years) and the handicap double (with Ken Goswell of Tweed Heads) but lost the D Sculls (45 to 51 years) to Alan Turner of Balmain.

Another dual winner was Graham Nix (Manning River) who had wins in the C Sculls (38 to 44 years) and B Pairs (32 to 37 years with Roy Haliday. All the scullers are training and racing as hard as ever.

Former rugby league and rowing international Dennis Tutty was a late replacement in the Haberfield/drummoyne D Four which won from the Rocky Mountains (USA)/Haberfield composite crew. Tutty combined well with Ian Toll, Fred Griffin and Terry Hayes to win by about one lengthafter being behind in the early stages of the race. They showed better technique than the composite crew who faded in the second 500 m.

The A & B class Fours races involved the same crews coming first and second with Mercantile beating Toowong/GPS Old Boys by margins both times.

In the women's events, ACT competitors did particularly well. Carol James of ANU won the sculls and combined with second placed Kathy Findlay of ANU, to win the double sculls. James has shown vast improvement in the last few months after taking up rowing at an age when most rowers have retired.

In the women's pairs, Lydia Miladinovic (Glebe) combined with Evelyn Adams (Narrabundah) for a comfortable win. This crew last raced together in 1974 at the World Championships when they were Australia's first women's crew to go to the world titles.

Victorian crews dominated the Men's E class events. Banks came first and third in the fours with Hawthorn/Albert Park second while Banks were too good for the younger crews in the handicap eights.

The only F class event (over 60 years) was the Men's F Sculls and it was stylishly won by Bill Andrews of Sydney Rowing Club. Generally the older crews appeared to enjoy their rowing a lot while the "younger" veterans were chasing the wins.

Index to Results

1987 Women's Masters Pair winners

Women's Pair at Medal Presentation

Left to right - Lydia Miladinavic, Evelyn Adams, David Bagnall, Craig Muller and Robyn Grey-Gardiner


Organising Committee and Officials

The regatta was again organised jointly by the New South Wales Rowing Association and the ACT Rowing Association.

Men's A Four

Time: Not known

1st Mercantile (VIC) - Bow: Terry Phillips, 2: Mike Kerin, 3: Stephen Mollard, Str: Peter Philp, Cox: Noel Donaldson
2nd Toowong/GPS Old Boys (QLD)

Men's B Pairs

Time: Not known

1st Manning River composite (Graham Nix and Roy Halliday)

Men's B Four

Time: Not known

1st Mercantile (VIC) - Bow: Terry Phillips, 2: Mike Kerin, 3: Stephen Mollard, Str: Peter Philp, Cox: Noel Donaldson
2nd Toowong/GPS Old Boys (QLD)

Men's C Scull

Time: Not known

1st Graham Nix (Manning River NSW)

Men's C Pair

Time: Not known

1st Haberfield (NSW) - Bow: John Lee, Str: Richard Stewart

Men's C2

John Lee (bow) and Richard Stewart of Haberfield winning the C class pair race

Men's D Scull

Time: Not known

1st Alan Turner (Balmain NSW)
2nd Ken Goswell (Tweed Heads NSW)

Men's D Four

Time: Not known
Margin: 1 length

1st Haberfield/Drummoyne (NSW) - Dennis Tutty, Ian Toll, Fred Griffin, Terry Hayes
2nd Rocky Mountains (USA)/Haberfield (NSW)


Bow: Ian Toll, 2: Fred Griffin, 3: Dennis Tutty, Str: Terry Hayes, Cox: R Dram

Tutty and Toll

Dennis Tutty (left) and Ian Toll receive their medals from Graham Lorking

Men's E Scull

Time: Not known

1st Bob Bradley (ANI SA)

Men's E Four

Time: Not known

1st Banks (VIC)
2nd Hawthorn/Albert Park (VIC)
3rd Banks (VIC)

Men's F Scull

Time: Not known

1st Bill Andrews (Sydney Rowing Club)

Men's Handicap Double

Time: Not known

1st ANI (SA)/Tweed Head (NSW) - Bob Bradley and Ken Goswell

Men's Handicap Eights

Time: Not known

1st Banks (VIC)

Women's Sculls

Time: Not known

1st Carol James (ANU ACT)
2nd Kathy Finlay (ANU ACT)

Women's Double Sculls

Time: Not known

1st ANU (ACT) - Carol James and Kathy Finlay

Women's Pair

Time: Not known

1st Glebe (NSW)/Narrabundah (ACT) - Bow: Lydia Miladinovic, Str: Evelyn Adams


Winning Women's Pair Lydia Miladinovic (bow) and Evelyn Adams (stroke)

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management