Scroll To Top
history of australian national rowing championships

1981 NSWRA Australia Day Championships, Lake Burley Griffin ACT

he NSWRA was granted approval to conduct the Australia Day Veterans' Championships late in January 1981 on Lake Burley Griffin, Canberra. (The ACT Rowing Association was at this time still an affiliate of the NSWRA). Events were to be held in all FISA age categories.

Graeme Loveridge in The Australian Rowing Magazine of March 1981 reported on this regatta as follows:

The first regatta ever held in Australia bringing veterans oarsmen from all over the country was at Lake Burley Griffin, Canberra, on 24 January 1981.

The New South Wales Rowing Association's Australia Day Veterans Championships was well supported, with crews travelling to Canberra from as far away as Western Australia.

The regatta was held in good conditions and included a social gathering at Canberra Rowing Club. It was reported that as the amber fluid flowed, the old timers re-rowed their races and you would have thought it was the world championships! Unfortunately the number of women rowers was low.

The star of the regatta was Jack Boerma who won the E sculls.

A similar regatta was conducted in May of the same year at Nagambie.


Men's B Scull

Time: 3:43.6
Margin 3.5 secs

1st: Graham Nix (Manning River , NSW)
2nd: Jack McGee (Drummoyne, NSW)

Men's B Pair

Time: 3:52.3
Margin: 21.5 secs

1st: Drummoyne (NSW) - Peter Stroud and Jack McGee
2nd Leichhardt (NSW)

Men's B Four

Time: 3:55.5
Margins: 1.3 and 7.5 secs

1st: Leichhardt (NSW) - Bow: Anthony (Tony) Potter, 2: David Bodell, 3: Peter Trives, Str: Stephen Jacques, Cox: A Sharrock
2nd St George (NSW)
3rd Hawthorn (VIC) - Bow: Paul Prooyer, 2: Jim Dewar, 3: Peter Landy, Str: Mark Landy

1981 Hawthorn crew

The Hawthorn Crew

Men's C Scull

Time: 3:56.5
Margins: 13.2 & 8.3

1st Robert Bradley (Australian National Railways SA)
2nd David Coles (Canberra ACT)
3rd M Churchill (Australian National University ACT)

Men's C Pair

Time: 3:37.9

1st Swan River/ANA (WA) - George Xouris and Don O'Brien
2nd Haberfield (NSW)

Men's C Four

Time: 3:29.1

1st WA Composite - George Xouris, Don O'Brien, Anthony Windus, L Badcock, Cox: Terry Scook
2nd Haberfield (NSW)
3rd Banks (VIC)

Men's D Scull

Time: 3:50.6

1st Robert Bradley (Australian National Railways SA)
2nd Edward (Ted) Foster (Nepean NSW)
3rd Don Dudgeon (Richmond VIC)

Men's D & E Fours

Time: 3:41.3
Margins: 1.9 & 8.1

1st Banks (VIC) - R Turner, Don Todd, Arthur Baddeley, John Jopling
2nd Hawthorn (VIC)
3rd St George (NSW)

Men's E Scull

Time: 4:14.7
Margins: 18.9 & 25.5

1st Jack Boerma (St George NSW)
2nd M Morris
(Mosman NSW)
3rd Jack Webster
(South Melbourne VIC)

Jack Boerma

Jack Boerma

Women's A & C Scull

Time: 4:20.8
Margin: 25.6

1st C MacGrath (Canberra ACT)
2nd Lynette Skelton (Balmain NSW)

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management