Scroll To Top
history of australian rowing at world championships

2023 World Championships - Belgrade, Serbia

The Senior Championships once again became the primary qualification regatta for the 2024 Paris Olympic Games. 

As usual, the initial selection process took place in March at the Sydney International Regatta Centre and a squad named to compete at the World Cup regattas. As with most pre Olympic years, the squad is large to provide the best opportunities to qualify boats for the Games.

The tour planned for this year includes a long stay in Europe rather than returning for a training block in Australia before going to the World Championships.

Daily Results Summaries

Sunday 3rd September 2023

Monday 4th September 2023

Tuesday 5th September 2023

Wednesday 6th September 2023

Thursday 7th September 2023

Friday 8th September 2023

Saturday 9th September 2023

Sunday 10th September 2023

Results—Men & Mixed

Men's Scull

Men's Double Scull

Men's Quad Scull

Men's Pair

Men's Four

Men's Eight

Men's Lightweight Scull

Men's Lightweight Double Scull

Men's Lightweight Quad Scull

Men's Lightweight Pair

Men's PR1 Scull

Men's PR2 Scull

Men's PR3 Pair

Mixed PR2 Double Scull

Mixed PR3 Double Scull

Mixed PR3 Coxed Four


Women's Scull

Women's Double Scull

Women's Quad Scull

Women's Pair

Women's Four

Women's Eight

Women's Lightweight Scull

Women's Lightweight Double Scull

Women's Lightweight Quad Scull

Women's Lightweight Pair

Women's PR1 Scull

Women's PR2 Scull

Women's PR3 Pair

Australian Team

This is the preliminary squad selected for the World Cups.

Women's Scull

Tara Rigney (NSW)

Women's Double Scull

Amanda Bateman (VIC)
Laura Gourley (NSW)

Women's Quad Scull

Caitlin Cronin (QLD)
Harriet Hudson (NSW)
Rowena Meredith (NSW)
Ria Thompson (VIC)

Sculling Squad Reserve: Kathryn Rowan (QLD)

 Women's Pair

Annabelle McIntyre OAM (WA)
Jessica Morrison OAM (VIC)

Women's Four

Sarah Hawe (VIC)
Giorgia Patten (WA)
Lucy Stephan OAM (VIC)
Katrina Werry (VIC)

Women's Eight Squad

Olympia Aldersey (SA)
Lily Alton (QLD)
Paige Barr (VIC)
Bronwyn Cox (WA)
Georgie Gleeson (VIC)
Molly Goodman (SA)
Georgina Rowe (NSW)
Jacqueline Swick (WA)
Cox: Hayley Verbunt (VIC)

Women's Lightweight Double Scull

Lucy Coleman (NSW)
Anneka Reardon (ACT)

Lightweight Sculling Reserve

Georgia Miansarow (NSW)

Men's Double Scull

Caleb Antill (ACT)
David Batholot (NSW)

Men's Quad Scull Squad

Jack Cleary (NSW)
Corma Kennedy-Leverett (QLD)
Sam Marsh (WA)
Harley Moore (QLD)
Campbell Watts (NSW)
Henry Youl (TAS)

Men's Four

Jack Hargreaves OAM (NSW)
Alexander Hill OAM (SA)
Alexander Purnell OAM (NSW)
Spencer Turrin OAM (NSW)

Men's Eight and Pair Squad

Ben Canham (VIC)
Angus Dawson (SA)
Sam Hardy (NSW)
Joshua Hicks (NSW)
Patrick Holt (NSW)
Simon Keenan (VIC)
Jackson Kench (NSW)
Rohan Lavery (VIC)
Tim Masters (VIC)
Jospeh O'Brien (NSW)
Will O'Shannessy (NSW)
Jack Robertson (VIC)
Angus Widdicombe (VIC)
Cox: Kendall Brodie (NSW)

Men's Lightweight Double Scull

Oscar McGuinness (SA)
Sean Murphy (NSW)
Reserve: Blaine Heseltine (QLD)

Men's PR1 Scull

Erik Horrie OAM (NSW)

Men's PR2 Scull

Simon Albury (SA)

Mixed PR3 Double Scull

Jed Altschwager (SA)
Nikki Ayers (ACT)

Mixed PR3 Coxed Four Squad

Thomas Birtwhistle (NSW)
Jessica Gallagher (VIC)
Toby Goffsassen (QLD)
Lisa Greissel (NSW)
Cox: Teesaan Koo (VIC)
Susannah Lutze (VIC)
Harrison Nichols (NSW)


John Keogh - Head Women’s Coach
Ellen Randell - Senior Women’s Coach
Tom Westgarth - Senior Women’s Coach
Rhett Ayliffe - Head Men’s Coach
Mark Prater - Senior Men’s Coach – M4x and M2x
Lyall McCarthy OAM - Senior Men's Coach
Jason Baker OAM - Senior Para-Rowing Coach

Paul Thompson MBE - High Performance Director
Wayne Diplock - Team Manager

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management