Scroll To Top
history of australian rowing at world championships

2019 World Championships- Linz-Ottensheim, Austria

2019 World Championships Linz-Ottensheim

These Championships were again the main qualifying regatta for the Tokyo Games and so the Australian team was focussed on qualification rather than medals. The results were still sound but not as expected.

Australia still finished third on the medal tally behind Italy and the Netherlands.

Australia qualified 8 Olympic boats and 2 Paralympic boats whilst winning eight medals. The men's boats qualified were the pair, four, eight and quad, and for the women, pair, four, eight and double. The Paralympic boats qualified were the Men's PR1 scull and the Mixed PR3 Coxed Four. Clearly Australia was hoping to qualify all but the single sculls and so were disappointed with missing out on both the lightweight doubles, the men's double and the women's quad. However it was pleasing to qualify the eights.

Women's eight celebrate their medal

Women's eight celebrate their medal

Rowing Australia Performance Director, Bernard Savage, summarised the week by commenting, “This week has had some incredibly hard and tight racing across all boat categories so to come away with qualifying eight Olympic and two Paralympic boats for Tokyo is really pleasing. I am very proud of this Team and the way they have gone about their business this week. To have qualified a full complement of sweep boats for both the men and women is particularly pleasing.

Daily Results Summaries

Sunday 25th August 2019

Monday 26th August 2019

Tuesday 27th August 2019

Wednesday 28th August 2019

Thursday 29th August 2019

Friday 30th August 2019

Saturday 31st August 2019

Sunday 1st September 2019


Men's Scull

Men's Double Scull

Men's Quad Scull

Men's Pair

Men's Four

Men's Eight

Men's Lightweight Scull

Men's Lightweight Double Scull

Men's Lightweight Quad Scull

Men's Lightweight Pair

Men's PR1 Scull

Men's PR2 Scull

Men's PR3 Pair

Mixed PR2 Double Scull

Mixed PR3 Double Scull

Mixed PR3 Coxed Four

Australian Team

Men's Double Scull - Twelfth

Caleb Antill (ACT)
David Bartholot (NSW)

Men's Quad Scull - Fourth

David Watts (WA)
Cameron Girdlestone (NSW)
Hamish Playfair (NSW)
Campbell Watts (NSW)

Men's Pair - Bronze

Joshua Hicks (NSW)
Sam Hardy (NSW)

Men's Four - Sixth

Alexander Hill (SA)
Jack Hargreaves (NSW)
Nicholas Purnell (NSW)
Joseph (Jack) O’Brien (NSW)

Men’s Eight - Fourth

Karsten Forsterling (VIC)
Alexander Purnell (NSW)
Angus Moore (NSW)
Simon Keenan (VIC)
Joshua Booth (VIC)
Timothy Masters (VIC)
Spencer Turrin (NSW)
Angus Widdicombe (VIC)
Cox: Kendall Brodie (NSW)

Men's Lightweight Scull - Bronze

Sean Murphy (NSW)

Men's Lightweight Double Scull - Eighth

Leon Chambers (NSW)
Hamish Parry (QLD)

Men's PR1 Scull - Bronze

Erik Horrie (NSW)

Men's PR3 Pair - Silver

William Smith (SA)
Jed Altschwager (SA)

Mixed PR3 Coxed Four - Fourth

Ben Gibson (NSW)
James Talbot (NSW)
Alex Vuillermin (VIC)
Alexandra Viney (VIC)
Coxswain: Renae Domaschenz (ACT)

Women’s Double Scull - Eleventh

Amanda Bateman (VIC)
Genevieve Horton (NSW)

Women’s Quadruple Scull - Tenth

Rowena Meredith (NSW)
Katrina Bateman (VIC)
Fiona Ewing (NSW)
Cara Grzeskowiak (ACT)

Women’s Pair - Silver

Annabelle McIntyre (WA)
Jessica Morrison (VIC)

Women’s Four - Gold

Olympia Aldersey (SA)
Katrina Werry (VIC)
Sarah Hawe (TAS)
Lucy Stephan (VIC)

Women’s Eight - Silver

Leah Saunders (NSW)
Jacinta Edmunds (QLD)
Bronwyn Cox (WA)
Georgina Rowe (NSW)
Rosemary Popa (VIC)
Annabelle McIntyre (WA)
Jessica Morrison (VIC)
Molly Goodman (SA)
Cox: James Rook (VIC)

Lightweight Women’s Single Scull - Seventh

Alice Arch (VIC)

Lightweight Women’s Double Scull - Ninth

Sarah Pound (NSW)
Georgia Nesbitt (TAS)

PR2 Women’s Single Scull - Gold

Kathryn Ross (ACT)


Luke Letcher (ACT)
Liam Donald (VIC)
Sean Murphy (NSW) - lightweight

Lilly Tinapple (WA)
Georgina Gotch (NSW)
Ciona Wilson (TAS)
Alice Arch (VIC) - lightweight

Nikki Ayres (ACT)


John Keogh - Head Women’s Coach – W8+ and W2-
Ellen Randell - Senior Women’s Coach –LW2x and W2x
Tom Westgarth - Senior Women’s Coach – W4- & LW1x
Ian Wright - Head Men’s Coach – M4- and M2-
Andrew Randell - Senior Men’s Coach – M8+
Mark Prater - Senior Men’s Coach – M4x and M2x
Don McLachlan - Coach – W4x, LM2x and LM1x
Gordon Marcks - Head Para-Rowing Coach
Jason Baker - PR1 Men’s Single Scull
Renae Domaschenz - PR2 Women’s Single Scull
Lizzi Chapman - PR3 Mixed 4+ and PR3 Men’s 2-


Women's Scull

Women's Double Scull

Women's Quad Scull

Women's Pair

Women's Four

Women's Eight

Women's Lightweight Scull

Women's Lightweight Double Scull

Women's Lightweight Quad Scull

Women's Lightweight Pair

Women's PR1 Scull

Women's PR2 Scull

Women's PR3 Pair

< previous 2018 Plovdiv

> next 2020 Bled

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management