Scroll To Top
History of World Rowing Under 23 Championships

2021 - World Under 23 Championships– Racice, Czech Republic

2021 Racice World Under 23 Championships

The World Under 23 Championships were conducted at Racice, Czech Republic without Australian representation.

On 17th March 2020, Rowing Australia advised:

Rowing Australia (RA) today confirmed that due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, it does not intend to send Under 23, Under 21 or Under 19 athletes to compete internationally. This is in line with RA’s announcement earlier this year that stated the organisation did not intend to send senior athletes to compete at international regattas throughout 2021, excluding the Final Olympic and Paralympic Qualification Regattas for the Tokyo Games.

It is still the intention of RA to select and support our pathway group athletes irrespective of international travel throughout 2021, and RA will announce, post trials, U23, U21 and U19 Australian Rowing Teams. The plan is that these teams will assemble for various camps, before then joining Australia’s Olympic and Paralympic rowing teams in a World Rowing Cup 3 simulation regatta to be held at the Sydney International Regatta Centre (3 to 6 June 2021).

RA is dedicated to ensuring that its pathway continues to develop and that the future of our sport remains strong thanks to our underage athletes and the wider pathway network. RA looks forward to seeing these athletes compete at the 2021 Aon Australian Rowing Championships, ahead of their trials, and showcasing to the community the strength and depth of the sport in Australia.

But even that full squad did not get to race as planned with travel restrictions imposed by some State Governments. For example, the Victorians raced against other Victorian crews at a regatta at Carrum on the same weekend and received their uniforms at that regatta.

It was an essential activity given that without it, no Australian under age teams would have been selected for two years.

Upon selection, the following announcement was made -

Rowing Australia (RA) today announced the Under 23 (U23) and Under 21 (U21) Australian Rowing Teams that will compete at the World Rowing Cup 3 Simulation Regatta to be held from 11 to 13 June in Penrith, New South Wales.

After completing a trialling process held at Lake Barrington, Tasmania, following the 2021 Aon Australian Rowing Championships, RA has selected seventeen U23 crews and four U21 crews to compete at the simulation regatta that will also feature Australia’s Senior Australian Rowing Team crews, as they prepare for the rescheduled Tokyo Olympic and Paralympic Games.

RA Deputy Performance Director, Jaime Fernandez, said “We’re delighted to be able to name two large teams to compete at our simulation regatta to be held in June. 2021 provides us with an opportunity to be inclusive and engage with a larger cohort of athletes, with an eye to Paris and beyond. These teams also include a number of our US-Based rowers who have been training in Australia due to the COVID-19 situation impacting the world.

“The regatta will provide our pathway teams the chance to compete against our top elite crews as they prepare to take on the world in Tokyo. The selections highlight the depth and breadth of our pathway network, with athletes and coaches coming from all our Member Associations.

“While I know many may have been disappointed by not being able to compete overseas this year, I believe our event, at the Sydney International Regatta Centre, will provide excellent racing and a highly competitive environment for the future stars of our sport.”

Results by day

Day 1 - 7 July 2021

Day 2 - 8 July 2021

Day 3 - 9 July 2021

Day 4 - 10 Jul 2021

Day 5 - 11 July 2021

Results by event

Men's Scull

Men's Double Scull

Men's Quad Scull

Men's Pair

Men's Four

Men's Coxed Four

Men's Eight

Men's Lightweight Scull

Men's Lightweight Double Scull

Men's Lightweight Quad Scull

Men's Lightweight Pair

Women's Scull

Women's Double Scull

Women's Quad Scull

Women's Pair

Women's Four

Women's Coxed Four

Women's Eight

Women's Lightweight Scull

Women's Lightweight Double Scull

Women's Lightweight Quad Scull

Women's Lightweight Pair

Australian Team

Men’s Single Scull

Cormac Kennedy-Leverett (QLD)
Cch: Lincoln Handley (QLD)
Cormac came from Griffith University/Surfers Paradise Rowing Club

Men’s Double Scull

Torun Olsson (NSW)
Oscar Williams (NSW)
Cch: Donovan Cech (NSW)
This was a Sydney Rowing Club and UTS Haberfield combination.

Men’s Quadruple Scull

Harry Crouch (NSW)
Joseph Wilson (TAS)
Tim Sander (WA)
Harry Glackin (ACT)
Cch: Brendan Long (TAS)
This was a full composite crew.

Men’s Pair

Alex Nichol (NSW)
Alexander Potter (NSW)
Cch: Donovan Cech (NSW)
This was a Sydney Rowing Club crew.

Men’s Four

Tom Page (VIC)
Finnian Colley (TAS)
Guster Laufmann (WA)
William Achermann (VIC)
Cch: Matthew Ryan (VIC)
This was another composite crew.

Men’s Coxed Four

Darcy McCluskey (QLD)
Alexander McClean (NSW)
Marcus Della Marta (NSW)
Johnson Daubney (WA)
Coxswain: Andrew Le (WA)
Cch: Matthias Ungemach (NSW)
This was a fully composite crew.

Men’s Coxed Eight

Myles McQuillan (WA)
Thomas Hooper (VIC)
Thomas Macky (VIC)
Marcus Emmett (VIC)
Nicholas Ringelstein (QLD)
Miller Eagle-Rowe (QLD)
Alex Nichol (NSW)
Alexander Potter (NSW)
Coxswain: Isaac Schmidt (QLD)
Cch: Matthew Ryan (VIC)
This crew had representtives from Sydney Rowing Club, Melbourne University, KAND and Swan River.

Lightweight Men’s Double Scull

Jack Bowser (QLD)
Tom Williamson (QLD)
Cches: David Fraumano (ACT) and Leo Karadimitis (QLD)
This was a Toowong combination.

Lightweight Men’s Quadruple Scull

Oscar McGuinness (SA)
Rohan James (WA)
Hamish Harding (ACT)
Connor Ryan (TAS)
Cch: David Fraumano (ACT)
Another composite crew.

Women’s Double Scull

Lily Wrigley (TAS)
Nicola Greenland (ACT)
Cch: Alex Field (NSW)
A composite crew from North Esk and ANU.

Women’s Quadruple Scull

Skyla Froebel (VIC)
Eleanor Price (NSW)
Sophie Houston (NSW)
Laura Gourley (NSW)
Coach: Hally Chapman (NSW)
This was largely and Sydney University crew.

Women’s Pair

Laura Foley (VIC)
Lily Cathcart (VIC)
Cch: Mitch Nelson (VIC)
This was a Melbourne University combination.

Women’s Coxless Four

Rebecca Pretorius (WA)
Jacqueline Swick (WA)
Genevieve Hart (WA)
Olivia Jones (WA)
Coach: Jamie Hewlett (WA)
This was a WA composite crew.

Women’s Coxed Four

Katelyn Nicholson (SA)
Paige Barr (VIC)
Emmie Frederico (VIC)
Ella Bramwell (SA)
Cox: Phoebe Georgakas (VIC)
Coach: Alistair Matthews (VIC)
This was a Mercantile and Adelaide combination.

U23 Women’s Eight

Lauren Graham (NSW)
Eliza Gaffney (VIC)
Jaime Ford (NSW)
Ella Mentzines (NSW)
Jean Mitchell (VIC)
Laura Foley (VIC)
Lily Cathcart (VIC)
Alexandra Nothdurft (QLD)
Coxswain: Talia Barnet-Hepples (NSW)
Coaches: Mitch Nelson (VIC) and Lachlan Carter (NSW)
A composite crew.

Lightweight Women’s Double Scull

Madeleine Williams (QLD)
Wallis Russell (QLD)
Coach: Agustin Radero Echave (QLD)

Lightweight Women’s Quadruple Scull

Kate Hall (TAS)
Sophie Walmsley (VIC)
Georgia Seed (WA)
Grace Sypher (NSW)
Coach: Stefano Balosso (WA)

Head coach: Lyall McCarthy (RA)

< previous 2020 Bled

> next 2022 Varese

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management