Scroll To Top
History of World Rowing Under 23 Championships

2004 World Under 23 Regatta— Poznan Poland


Men's Single Scull

Final: 1st LAT (Kristaps Bokums), 2nd GBR (Colin Smith), 3rd NED (Sjoerd Hamburger), 4th AUS

The British and Australian scullers led early by the half way mark the Dutch sculler joined the party with nothing much between these three scullers. With 700 metres to go, the eventual winner from Latvia joined the fight and nothing separated these four scullers. In a photo finish Bokums from Latvia won from Smith of Great Britain with the Dutch and Australian scullers not far behind.

Men's Quad Scull

Final: 1st GER (Steffen Blaettermann, Simon Gawlik, Karsten Brodowski and Stefan Massanz), 2nd POL, 3rd AUS

The Germans led from start to finish. The Australians had a fight with the Polish crew but tye Poles broke away from them in the last 500 metres.

Men's Coxless Four

Final: 1st CRO, 2nd AUS, 3rd ESP

This was a tight race which came down to a sprint to the line which was won by Croatia.

Men's Coxed Four

Final: 1st AUS, 2nd GBR, 3rd GER, 4th ROM

Very tight racing throughout which ended up in a sprint to the line. In a photo finish between the first four crews, Australia prevailed.


Women's Single Scull

Final: 1st GER (Magdalena Schmude), 2nd AUS, 3rd SVK (Iva Obradovic), 4th POL (Julia Michalska)

Women's Four

Final: 1st GBR, 2nd AUS, 3rd CAN

The British crew lead from the start and had clear water by the half way mark. The interest in this race was in the battle for the silver medal between Australia and Canada. These crews were level at 1500 metre mark and it took a photo finish to separate them at the end of the race.

Women's Lightweight Single Scull

Final: 1st CZE (Daniela Nachazelova), 2nd RUS (Ksenia Potapova), 3rd AUS, 4th TUN

Australian Team

Men's Single Scull - Fourth

Mitchell Punch (ACT)
Coach: Gordon Marcks (ACT)

Men's Double Scull

Ross Macleod-Carey (QLD)
Gareth Salkield (QLD)
Cch: Bill Caldwell (QLD)

Men's Quadruple Scull - Bronze

Pat Storman (NSW)
Nick Hudson (NSW)
Nick Phelps (VIC)
Sam Renton (QLD)
Cch: John Bowes (NSW)

Men's Coxless Four - Silver

David Galley (QLD)
Craig Dorrstein (QLD)
Sebastian Harper (QLD)
Peter Winkle (QLD)
Cch: Joe Rodrigues (QLD)

Men's Coxed Four - Gold

Matt Ryan (NSW)
Michael Valli (NSW)
Ian Allsop (NSW)
Fergus Pragnall (NSW)
Cox: Robert Williams (NSW)
Cch: Andrew Randell (NSW)

Men's Lightweight Double Scull

Howard Sharpe (VIC)
Chris Ritchie (ACT)
Cch: Gordon Marcks (ACT)

Men's Lightweight Coxless Four

John Polinelli (WA)
Todd Skipworth (WA)
Josh Fahey (VIC)
Alistair Carter (VIC)
Cch: John Cumper (VIC)

Women's Single Scull - Silver

Sally Kehoe (QLD)
Coach: Phil Bourgoinon (QLD)

Women's Double Scull - Bronze

Tara Kelly (QLD)
Susanne Brown (QLD)
Cch: Peter Howard (QLD)

Women's Coxless Pair

Sarah Heard (VIC)
Kate Hutchinson (VIC)
Cch: John Acton (VIC)

Women's Coxless Four - Silver

Emma Wawn (VIC)
Felicity Willis (WA)
Tara Huntly (ACT)
Sarah Cook (ACT)
Cch: Liz Harley (ACT)

Women's Lightweight Single Scull - Bronze

Mollie Hill (TAS)
Cchs: Adrian David (SA) (Australia) & John Acton (VIC) (Europe)

Manager: Michael Smith (NSW)
Australian on Jury: Brian Nash (WA)

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management