Scroll To Top
australian rowers profiles and history

Philip J Steele

Yarra Yarra Rowing Club (VIC)

Philip John Steele

1876, the clubs first regatta win trophy awarded to P J Steele

Convener of meeting 2nd August 1871 meeting for Early Closing Association sport.

Pioneer Early Closing Association RC secretary, later called Yarra Yarra Rowing Club.

This being the first regatta win by the Yarra Yarra Rowing Club.

1876 - Melbourne Regatta, Maiden Sculls - Won by P J Steele of Yarra Yarra from 12 competitors.

Held on Lower Yarra near junction with saltwater or  Maribyrnong River. Clinker boats outrigger only.

(Source “the Victorian Oarsman”)

“In this event the club was represented by Mr P J Steele, who had his boat fitted with a V slide, the first sliding seat to be used in Victoria, and obtained much criticism.”

(Source “1904 Australian Rowing notes by Tingle”)

Member from 1871/72 - 1877/78. Died 26/4/1926

Secretary 1875/76 - 1877/78

Other regatta wins:-

1874 - Melbourne regatta, maiden gig (stroke)

1876 - Geelong and Barwon regatta, senior scull

Photo 1876 after winning challenge sculls

From the 1972/73 YYRC annual report:-

A significant collection of rowing items is held by the family of Philip John Steele (died 26/4/1926) P J Steele won a maiden sculling race, and was in the winning maiden Gig crew at the 1874 Melbourne regatta. These were the first recorded regatta wins for YYRC. The collection includes an illustration of P J Steele (who became a prominent sculler in a sculling boat.

Yarra Yarra rowing club town fours 1875 (Engraved on medallion)

Cabinet position, centre panel, upper centre medallion.

The crew as listed on the medallion.

J Mc Alister bow
A Beenie 2
A J Ralph 3
P J Steele stroke
H Steele cox

Jim Slidmore
June 2024

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management