Scroll To Top
Australian Rowing History

1993 – World Championships, Roudnice CZE 

Adaptive Sliding Seat Single Scull—Gold

Michael Briggs (WA)
Cch: George Frizzell (WA)

Michael Briggs at 1993 National Championships

Adaptive Fixed Seat Single Scull—Silver

Roger Blake (TAS)
Cch: Bob Blake (TAS)

Roger Blake at 1993 National Championships 

The Australian Rowing magazine in the September 1993 edition reported as follows: 

The two 1993 national winners of the Disrow Adaptive Rowing events, Michael Briggs (WA) in the sliding seat category and Roger Blake (Tas) - fixed seat category, were selected to represent Australia at the World Rowing Championships at Roudnice.

They will compete over 1000m using Aldens style craft provided through the Dutch Adaptive Rowing Foundation who have made it possible for the two athletes to attend the regatta by providing accommo¬dation and some transport to the regatta venue.

Five countries entered the three-event program on opening day of the champion¬ships. Apart from the fixed seat and sliding seat categories, the third event was in a double scull with an able-bodied athlete teaming with a sight impaired athlete.

A symposium on disability categories. event distance. style of craft and the future of adaptive rowing was also expected to be held at Roudnice.


Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management