Scroll To Top
australian rowers profiles and history

D E (Dan) Joyce

Commercial Rowing Club then Brisbane Rowing Club (QLD)

Jack Pritchard in his book Rowing in Queensland provided the following tribute for Dan upon his death in the 1955-56 season.

The President of the Q.A.R.C., D.E.(Dan) Joyce also passed away during the season. He participated in the early Intercolonial Races, firstly as a cox then as stroke in the 1880's and 1890's. Throughout his life his interest in and support of rowing never abated and he was a powerful influence in rowing and also in business and church life. 

Known rowing record

1891 - Intercolonial Championships, Men's Eight, cox - First (and first win for Queensland)

1892 - Queensland Championship Men's Four, cox - First (Commercial RC)

1899 - Intercolonial Championships, Men's Eight, stroke - Fourth

1900 - Queensland Championship Men's Eight, stroke - Second (Brisbane RC and first eight oar championship in Queensland)

1903 - Interstate Championship Men's Eight, bow - Second

1904 - Interstate Championship Men's Eight, three seat - Third

1907 - Queensland Championship Men's Eight, seven seat - Second

1932 - Elected Life Member of Q.A.R.C.

1937 - Successful fund raiser for the 1937 Interstate Championship crew

1938-55 - President Q.A.R.C.

Dates unknown but included 1947 - President Brisbane Rowing Club

Andrew Guerin
January 2023

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management