Scroll To Top
australian rowers profiles and history

Ernest Baynes

Commercial Rowing Club (QLD)

1885 - Intercolonial Eights Championships two seat - Fourth

Jack Pritchard in his Queensland rowing history "Rowing in Queensland 1880-1995" reported as follows.

Queensland's first venture against the neighbouring colonies was on April 25, 1885, with a crew formed to compete in the Intercolonial Eight-oared Race in Sydney, racing against Victoria, New South Wales and Tasmania. The Tasmanian crew used an eight fitted with a fin, the first time one was used in an eight. New South Wales won from Victoria, then Tasmania and Queensland last. The crew for Queensland was J.N. Devoy (B), E. Baynes (2), T.A. Bond (3), L.J. Quinn (4), D. O'Connor (5), P. Hardgrave (6), T. Hughes (7), E. Winter (S) and M. Harris (Cox). The major part of the crew was from Commercial, the exception being T.A. Bond from Kangaroo Point R.C.. 

Steve Roll and Andrew Guerin
December 2020

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management