Scroll To Top
Head of Schoolgirls Rowing Regatta History

1990 VIC Head of Schoolgirls' Regatta

This year increased the number of crews to 157, although the number schools reduced by one. Open eights were introduced for the first time and fourteen of them competed showing the pent up demand for this boat class. It also showed the great organisation amongst the schools to prepare for the introduction of this event.

Wesley College took the honours for this new event.

The host club was MLC, and of course the convenor was Susie Palfreyman.


Programme Cover


Organising Committee and Officials

Head of the Schoolgirls Regatta Committee


Race Results

Click on the race of interest and the results will appear below the buttons:

Single Scull Open Division 1

Coxed Four Open Division 1

Eight Open Division 1

Coxed Four Open Division 2

Coxed Four Open Division 3

Coxed Four Open Division 4

Coxed Four Open Division 5

Coxed Four Year 10 Division 1

Coxed Four Year 10 Division 2

Coxed Four Year 10 Division 3

Coxed Four Year 9 Division 1

(1,000 metres)

Time - Not recorded

1st Fintona Girls School - Bow: R Rowe, 2: M Warren, 3: S Cousens, Str: D Cooper, Cox: Z Bishop, Cch: Dr R Cross

4th Genazzano College No 1 - Bow: B McIntyre, 2: C Larkin, 3: J Gilbert, Str: K McGuinness, Cox: L Clancy, Cch: Lloyd Cosgrove

Other competing crews:

Sale Catholic College No 1 - Bow: B Quinn, 2: K Henham, 3: C Grimsted, Str: K MacCubbin, Cox: W List, Cch: B MacCubbin

St Catherine's School No 1 - Bow: A Blackshaw, 2: L Palmer, 3: A Schepisi, Str: S Scambler, Cox: C Morey-Nase, Cch: R Case

Wesley College No 2 - Bow: A Walker, 2: R Nikakis, 3: T Whittington, Str: F Battershill, Cox: P Ching, Cch: S Farfor

Geelong College No 1

Lauriston Girls School No 1 - Bow: M Glass, 2: J Morrison, 3: E Mandalis, Str: A Tartakover, Cox: S Cook, Cch: L Hart


Wesley College No 1 - Bow: A Peace, 2: T Foster, 3: N Check, Str: T Davidson, Cox: M D'Arcy, Cch: D Baskerville

Lowther Hall - Bow: P Carrasco, 2: S Vipond, 3: Y Keas, Str: L Brown, Cox: S Lancaster, Cch: F Morris

Korowa Anglican Girls School - Bow: P McGorlick, 2: Y Lapins, 3: D Durston, Str: T Gallagher, Cox: R Dubsky

Methodist Ladies College - Bow: M Nance, 2: A Bridgeford, 3: C Todd, Str: K Graham, Cox: A Strong, Cch: L Cosgrove

E1: 1st and 2nd placings not known between Sale 1 and Genazzano 1, 3rd St. Catherine's 1

E2: 1st and 2nd placings not known between Wesley 2 and Geelong College 1, 3rd Lauriston 1

E3: 1st and 2nd placings not known between Wesley 1 and Lowther, 3rd Loreto

E4: 1st and 2nd placings not known between Fintona and MLC, 3rd Korowa

SF1: Results not known between MLC, Wesley 2, Genazzano 1 and Lowther

SF2: Results not known between Sale 1, Geelong College 1, Fintona and Wesley 1

Coxed Four Year 9 Division 2

(1,000 metres)

Time - Not recorded

1st Geelong College, 2nd St Catherine's School, 3rd Geelong College - Exact crews not known

Competing crews:

Lauriston No 2
- Bow: J Martin, 2: J Dobson, 3: J Rodgers-Wilson, Str: C Patterson, Cox: L Major, Cch: K Taylor

Sale Catholic College No 2 - Bow: C Meester, 2: L Pope, 3: S Griffin, Str: S Mouita, Cox: B Morgan, Cch: B Morgan

Wesley College No 3 - Bow: Z Shortis, 2: N Kelly, 3: D Edwards, Str: S Sharp, Cox: S Chan, Cch: R Haverfield

St Catherine's No 2 - Bow: S Borthwick, 2: H Loane, 3: F Gilmore, Str: G Johnston, Cox: S Yarad, Cch: A Crawford

Genazzano College No 2 - Bow: M Gibson, 2: J Harkin, 3: M Carolan, Str: S Hammond, Cox: C Wordsworth, Cch: A Stanley

St Catherine's No 3 - Bow: I Andrews, 2: C Green, 3: S Cook, Str: A Molesworth, Cox: J Nasser, Cox: S Partridge

Wesley College No 5 - Bow: S Muir, 2: A Miller, 3: R MacIntyre, Str: K Gooden, Cox: K Boltin, Cch: C Hall

Geelong College No 2

Loreto 2

Geelong College No 3

Wesley College No 4 - Bow: K Raandja, 2: F Degano, 3: A Light, Str: D Krause, Cox: S Femino, Cch: C Hall

E1: 1st Lauriston 2, 2nd St. Catherine's 2, 3rd and 4th placings not known between Sale 2 and Wesley 3

E2: 1st Geelong College 2, 2nd St. Catherine's 3, 3rd Genazzano 2, 4th Wesley 5

E3: 1st Geelong College 3, 2nd Wesley 4, 3rd Loreto 2

S1: Results not known

S2: Results not known

Coxed Four Year 9 Division 3


1990 Regatta Programme

Rowing Victoria:

< previous 1989

> next 1991

top of page

Website by Hope Stewart—Website Design & Management